Very proud to announce that Green Lane Primary Academy have been awarded the GOLD SCHOOL GAMES MARK for excellence in sport. Please click on ‘Sports News’ to find out more!

A Big School with a Big Heart

Header Image


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a very important stage in learning at Green Lane Primary Academy. Children develop quickly in the early years and early years practitioners aim to do all they can to help the children have the best possible start in life.

Children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which explains how and what your child will be learning. Your child will be developing skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven main areas of development, made up of three prime areas and four specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

 The Learning Context

In order to maximise children’s interests, we have identified six learning contexts, one per half term, through which the above seven areas of learning will be delivered.

Reception Learning Contexts
Autumn 1 Dinosaur Discovery
Autumn 2 Friends & Feelings
Spring 1 Fabulous Food
Spring 2 Superheroes
Summer 1 Shiver Me Timbers
Summer 2 Animal Antics

The curriculum is also flexible enough to include topical issues and appropriate current affairs, as well as, any opportunities for learning that arise from everyday situations. We believe that activities should always be relevant, imaginative, motivating, enjoyable and challenging. We have a structured play-based curriculum that is often built around real life situations and children’s own experiences.

View Our Newsletters